Europe News: Czech Republic, Portugal and Spain sign eCall MOU

Europe News: Czech Republic, Portugal and Spain sign eCall MOU

Three more EU member states – the Czech Republic, Portugal and Spain – have signed the eCall Memorandum of Understanding initiated by the European Commission.

The number of EU member states that have committed themselves to eCall now stands at twelve.

The Netherlands has announced its willingness to sign shortly.

Non-EU countries – Switzerland, Norway and Iceland – have also signed up.

On signing the MOU, these member states have committed themselves to actively supporting the timely implementation of the pan-European in-vehicle emergency call system for road accidents.

According to Viviane Reding, European Commissioner for the Information Society & Media, the Commission will soon start negotiations with car manufacturers from Europe, Japan and Korea to equip all new cars in Europe with eCall by 2010.

However, Reding points out that important EU countries are still not responding to eCall.

“If this does not change quickly, it could endanger both Europe's competitiveness and – more important – the lives of European citizens. I therefore urge the remaining EU countries to join the eCall initiative in the months to come. Otherwise, intervention with an eCall Directive is an option that I will seriously take into consideration.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *